La Liga sides have continued their dominance in Europe by having 18 players nominated for the UEFA’s Team of the Year for 2016.

The 40-man shortlist was announced via UEFA’s official website which allows users to vote for players in each position. All votes are then counted and the players who receive the most votes are then selected for the final XI.

Players from Spanish sides make up almost half of the list, and it’s no surprise to see all of their respective nominations coming from Atlético Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid. Of course, the two Madrid clubs fought out a fiercely contested Champions League final in Milan earlier this year.

All 18 players face tough competition from the rest of Europe’s best, including Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski, Leonardo Bonucci of Juventus and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne.

Voting lasts until 3 January 2017 and the full results will be announced two days later.